Looking for a long lasting, durable dog toy?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

As an owner of a pet supply store, I’m constantly being asked the question, “Will my dog chew this up?”  

While there are many great, long lasting, and durable chew toys out there, pet owners should be aware that there is no such thing as an “indestructible” dog toy.  Just as we supervise our babies while they are playing with toys, our canine kids should be supervised while playing with their toys as well.

I’ve spent many hours researching the highest rated chew toys on the market, and I’ve selected a group of toys that I like the best.  In addition to their overall toughness, I also factored in price, environmental impacts, and aesthetics (after all, the toy should be as “cute” as possible).  Below is a summary (in no particular order) of my toy selection, all of which are available on my website.

West Paw Zogoflex Toys

West Paw Design® 

Hand-crafted in the heart of Big Sky Country, West Paw Design® makes a variety of products including cat toys, dog beds, dog sweaters and jackets, and interactive dog toys as well as soft plush toys.  But they’re best known for their line of durable dog toys for aggressive chewers.  These toys are made from the one-of-a-kind Zogoflex® material which is a super durable, extremely pliable material that’s tough, buoyant, non-toxic, and guaranteed to last!  The other cool part about these toys is they are 100% recyclable and create virtually no waste during the manufacturing process.  This incredible high-tech material is used to make the HuckHurley®Tux®, Būmi® and Zisc® all of which are available at The Mom and Paw Shop.

Tuffy® Toys

Tuffy's "Captain Kurklops"

This manufacturer claims these toys are “The World’s “Tuff”est Soft Dog Toy,” and they certainly go the distance to ensure their “Tuff”ness.  Tuffy’s® are extremely durable toys made with one layer of soft fleece, two layers of industrial- grade luggage material, and one layer of plastic coating in the middle.  The layers are assembled with seven rows of stitching.  Four seams hold the product together and then a layer of material is added to cover the assembly stitching, then three more seams are added.  The toys are stuffed with safe, non-toxic fiber and a protective pouch around each squeaker.  Each toy comes with a numbered rating based on their “Tuff” scale, with one being the weakest and ten being the toughest.  Along with the high quality of their design, my favorite thing about these toys is the overall attractiveness of each toy.  To see our selection of Tuffy® Toys, click here.

Mighty® Toys

Mighty Toys' Wooly Mammoth - "Woody"

VIP Products says Mighty® Toys “Rethink Durability”.  The durability of these toys is created with multiple layers of flexible materials that move with the dog’s teeth instead of tearing.  The Mighty toys have no hard edges which often times promote chewing.  The toys are made with two layers of material, including a layer of industrial- strength luggage material and four rows of stitching.  Similar to the Tuffy® Toys, each toy comes with a numbered rating based on the “Dura” Scale, with one being the weakest and ten being the strongest.  I gave my Newfoundland puppy “Sandy” Seal6 months ago, and she has yet to chew it up.  The toys we carry at  The Mom and Paw Shop are our favorite form the Mighty® Toys series.

Planet Dog

Planet Dog Cosmos

Some consider Planet Dog as the industry’s leading socially responsible, values-based design. The toys are made with the Orbee Tuff® material and are extremely durable, buoyant, bouncy, minty, recyclable, non-toxic and, best of all, 100% guaranteed.  Each toy comes with at Treat Spot™ for hiding a healthy treat and their Chew-o-meter will help you determine what toy to buy.  Two percent of all of their proceeds go to fund the Planet Dog Foundation, and 100% of proceeds from their Glow for Good Ball go to the same cause.  My favorite Planet Dog Toy is the Cosmo.  My Newfoundland has had this toy for months, and it has yet to get even a tooth mark on it.  Click here to see our line of Planet Dog toys.

Premier Busy Buddy®

Premier Busy Buddy - Kibble Nibble

To quote Premier, “The Busy Buddy® line of treat dispensing chew toys are designed to keep your pet busy with good things to chew.  Each Busy Buddy toy is made with a different and unique chewing experience in mind and helps redirect potentially destructive chewing behavior into positive playtime.”  The strongest of these toys are the Kibble Nibble, Squirrel Dude, and Bristle Bone.

Kong®

Kong Puppy Squeakers

Kong has become legendary in the “strong” chew toy industry.  These durable rubber toys with holes in both ends now come in many styles and colors.  Red is the “traditional” (and most popular) while black is the “extra tough”.  They are dishwasher, freezer and microwave safe, allowing you to stuff them with all kinds of goodies to keep your pups occupied.   The Puppy Kongs come with a squeaker.

Go Dog

Go Dog Dragon w/Chew Guard

 Go Dog’s™ line of fun toys are perfect for all breeds and sizes of dogs. They make excellent toys for great big guys as well as the tiny guys… no discrimination! Some of their products come with the Chew Guard Technology which is constructed with a durable liner to provide a tougher soft toy.  These toys are extremely cute, but I wouldn’t say they are as tough as the toys listed above.



8RQZHHUGCAAD

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://momandpawshop.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/looking-for-a-long-lasting-durable-dog-toy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love Tuffy toys my dogs have had the Rumble Ring for over a year now and Rusty hasn’t been able to destroy it. That is saying a lot considering most toys he destroys in a few minutes. I love it and so do both of my dogs. You can throw it in the house without too much worry of breaking things because it is soft. My dogs love that is has four squeakers also.

    I have also had good luck with Kong toys. I will have to give the Mighty Toys brand a try haven’t heard of them before. I have been researching for an article I”m writing on safe dog toys and Planet Dog and Kong are among of the safest so I plan on getting a few toys made from Planet Dog. Sadie and Rusty already have toys made from Kong.

  2. […] In addition to buying toys made from recycled materials, buying durable, long lasting toys will allow you to consume less which, in turn, reduces your impact on the environment.  The Mom & Paw Shop specializes in durable toys but we also carry a growing selection of toys made from recycled materials.  Planet Dog and West Paw Designs seem to be leading the way in providing Eco-Friendly dog toys so look for these brands when visiting our toy section.  You can also read more about these brands by reading the “Looking for a long lasting, durable dog toy?” blog. […]

  3. I was recommended this web site via my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this submit is written via him as no one else
    know such targeted approximately my problem. You are wonderful!
    Thanks!

  4. I am truly pleased to glance at this blog posts which contains lots of valuable facts, thanks for providing these statistics.

  5. Great post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more with this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate more.
    Kudos!

    • If you are interest in seeing a bit more n durability of toys you can see my page where I had should the toys after my dog has played with them. Gives a good idea of how strong they really are.
      http://www.toytails.wordpress.com

  6. If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, simply visit this web site daily because it gives quality contents, thanks

  7. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you present.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information.
    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

  8. I am in fact grateful to the holder of this web page who has shared this
    wonderful piece of writing at at this place.

  9. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about public list. Regards

  10. I create a comment whenever I appreciate a post on a site or if I have something to contribute to the
    conversation. It is a result of the sincerness communicated in the article I looked at.
    And after this article Looking for a long lasting, durable
    dog toy? | The Mom and Paw Shop Blog. I was moved enough to create a thought 😛 I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it just me or do a few of the remarks look like they are written by brain dead people?😛 And, if you are writing at additional social
    sites, I’d like to follow you. Could you make a list all of all your social sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

  11. Bruce Knuth, Gems In Myth, Legends august birthstone And Lore; Parachute, Colorado, Montana and Colorado.

    Known to stand for innocence, purity, and hope.
    Do I need to send¬ this to the geniuses¬ at NASA?

  12. I possess a wireless head set, there is no better example of this is wireless headphones no
    wires to get tangled into knots. If your friend also has
    a constant” ticking” sound and a” tapping” of a cymbal.

  13. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to
    get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual
    appearance. I must say you’ve done a fantastic job with this.

    Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Chrome.
    Exceptional Blog!

  14. I am genuinely thankful to the holder of this web site who
    has shared this impressive article at here.

  15. This is my first time visit at here and i am actually impressed to read
    everthing at single place.

  16. Tampa Personal Injury Lawyer has been fighting for the rights of
    injured people for well from many years. Injury attorneys are lawyers that actually
    work to relieve the stress of the hard time by recovering compensation for the injury.
    After all, if a claimant is saying that she hurt her neck
    but has completely recovered, there is no obvious evidence that the injustice occurred.

  17. Thank you for another great post. The place else
    may anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal means of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am at the look for such information.

  18. […] pleased to honor the existing prescription and assist them in selecting frames and lenses for their prescription safety glasses. Implementing Your Safety Eyewear Plan Distributor of safety gear & supplies including […]

  19. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating
    it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog
    you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog
    and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  20. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during
    lunch break. I love the information you provide here and
    can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent
    blog!

  21. Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is awesome, nice
    written and include almost all important infos. I would like to peer
    extra posts like this .

  22. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your
    website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge
    you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good site!

  23. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new updates.

  24. I think this is among the most vital info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style is wonderful, the articles is really nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

  25. Each provider has renewed The Vampire Diaries as its gonna start at only Rs.

    Bright, High Definition video cameras and screens whenever you want to hang.
    Shop with confidence to give a further explanation of the television choices for DISH Network offers programming
    packages that can includea HD DVD PlayersSome DVD Players have a lot
    of responsibility for accuracy. His life is turned off and
    deactivated on the Sony LCD televisions employing 32 inch tv CCFLs.
    Family Matters”;” Soul Train” and 40″ and connect with today s headlines don t offer the advantage of special device.

  26. Great post. Its hard to find good toys these days. I did find this website: http://www.indestructibledogtoys.org/

  27. goDOg dragons are really not that strong to see the evidence behind my statement please see my blog: http://www.toytails.wordpress.com
    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

