Should I be using a shock collar to train my dog?

…NO!

Come on, really??? I don’t understand peoples’ mindset sometimes. I know, I know…I’ve read all the other posts and articles out there saying that shock collars are safe, and that they work well. Yeah, of course they work well! If I was being threatened with a jolt of electricity going through my neck, I would listen too!

Sure it may not “hurt” the dog (if it’s on the lower setting), and they don’t give a strong shock (again, if it’s on the lower setting); but there are people who think they have tried everything else, and they are using a shock collar as a last resort.

Take the time to train your dog with positive reinforcement rather than electricity. There are tons of resources and trainers out there who can help you learn how to properly train your dog. It’s a much more rewarding way to train your dog for both you and your dog.

Another training collar you shouldn’t use is the pinch collar as seen below. Now I will be the first to admit, I actually used one of these collars previously, and I still feel bad about it. I had a Golden Retriever, Caffrey, who would pull incessantly, and I could not get him to stop. So somebody suggested using a pinch collar. I used it for awhile and he would still pull. I later found out that these collars (and simple choke collars) work by placing pressure on the throat of the dog which can actually make the dog pull even harder in response. One day, I pulled back on the lead to get him to stop pulling, and my poor dog yelped from the shock and pain of the metal prongs digging into his neck. Caffrey passed away 4 years ago, and I still feel bad about this.

As I previously stated, don’t use a choke collar either. Use a gentle lead collar. I use one on my Newfoundland, and they work great. The gentle lead collars I sell on my website come with a free training DVD that shows you how to properly use the collar.

Remember, there are no bad dogs out there, just owners who need training.

Published in: on September 16, 2010 at 2:55 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://momandpawshop.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/should-i-be-using-a-shock-collar-to-train-by-dog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wonderful post! We are linking to this particularly great content
    on our website. Keep up the good writing.

  2. Unquestionably believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they just don’t know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined
    out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.

    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  3. Good site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours these days.
    I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  4. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a
    daily basis. It will always be exciting to read articles
    from other authors and use something from
    other websites.

  5. Hello, of course this article is in fact good and I have learned lot of things from it about blogging.

    thanks.

  6. It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you
    just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this.

    Thank you for sharing.

  7. When some one searches for his essential thing, so he/she wants
    to be available that in detail, therefore that
    thing is maintained over here.


Leave a Reply

