Keep Your Dog Cool with a Pool!

Keep Your Dog Cool with a Pool!

I have a 110 pound brown Newfoundland who would much rather be lying in 2-feet of snow in sub-zero temperatures than baking outside in the scorching heat of summer. 

In the past, every morning before I would go to work, I would fill her water bowl up.  When I would come home at lunch to check on her during the summer months, I would find her water bowl empty and wet pavement surrounding it.  I figured since she is a Newfoundland (who have been known to drink their water from the bottom up) and still a puppy that she was just playing in her water bowl and splashing it around because she was bored.  Well, during one blistering weekend afternoon, I witnessed her splashing and playing in her water bowl just as I had expected.  Just as I was about to scold her, she did something that made me realize there was a method to her madness! When she had emptied the water bowl and thoroughly soaked the pavement around her, she methodically plopped down on the soaking wet pavement and took a deep sigh as she cooled herself off. 

Now it would be nice if I owned 10 acres of land with a fishing pond or maybe a babbling brook running through it that Shiloh (my Newfoundland) could swim in during these hot days.  But I don’t.  My house sits on the typical 1/4 acre lot and the 50-year old Cottonwood tree that, used to provide shade, has since died, leaving my backyard fully exposed to the scorching afternoon sun.

So, to compromise, I did the next best thing.  I bought a kiddie pool at the store for $10.  Definitely one of my better decisions!  Now…Shiloh doesn’t have to empty her water bowl to cool off.  And at least if she does or if she accidentally tips it over, I know that she’s got plenty of water in her kiddie pool to keep her cool! 

Published in: on August 9, 2010 at 3:16 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://momandpawshop.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/keep-your-dog-cool-with-a-pool/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Justin and Crystal – I hadn’t heard this doggie story – how cute!!!

  2. http://eurohavuz.com havuz ve sauna teknik servis

  3. This is the perfect site for anyone who would like to find out about this topic.
    You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will
    need to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic
    that’s been written about for a long time. Great stuff, just excellent!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

